1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Hi from Nebraska

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by chickadedede, Sep 30, 2010.

1. chickadedede

chickadedede Thread Starter New Member

Hi, I've been keeping fish off and on for a few years. I moved to Nebraska about a year ago and none of my fish liked the move, so now have a cycled 20 gallon high that's ready for fish, but I'm having trouble deciding what to put in it. I've had a few bettas, Endlers (still can't believe I managed to find them), Cory Cats, Java Fern, and far too many pond snails. I'd like to do more with live plants when I can get a decent setup.

I don't know if I'll actually post on here much, a lot of these discussions are a bit out of my league. I'll be reading them, but I don't know if I'll have a lot to add.

2. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

Welcome to the forum and don't be afraid to dive right in (everyone was new at some point of the game)!

Reading cycled 20H that your thinking of planting...if your thinking of going fully planted begin with a good substrate. I ALWAYS recommend Eco-Complete Planted (the black that looks like dirt).

Another quick recommendation if you like the "natural" look would be to get yourself a nice piece of driftwood for your centerpiece (I try to find either a "sinkable" type aquarium safe wood or grab myself a piece of slate and a galvanized screw and make my own weighted base).

Sounds like you've already started with some of the easier to care for species (bettas/endlers), are you wanting to stay with the hardier/easier fish and interested in a variety moreso rather than a specific type/species of fish?