1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Howdy from Northern AZ

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by matrixmommy, Feb 2, 2009.

1. matrixmommy

matrixmommy Thread Starter New Member

Hi ya'll. My name is Paige. I am really new to the whole aquarium scene. I've had assorted fish in the past, but have never really made it a hobby or anything. I hadn't had any fish in several years (at least 10, if not more), but two years ago decided to get a betta 'cuz my little apartment was awful lonely and I couldn't afford a dog (my preferred pet). So, along came Al (named after Al Giordino from the Dirk Pitt novels by Clive Cussler). Al stayed with me for over a year and a half, moving from one apartment to another, until one day after I had cleaned his little one gallon tank, he up and died. By this time, I also had two tiger barbs in a five gallon tank (I know, not the best living situation for them, but I didn't know better at the time) and another betta in a goldfish bowl that belonged to my son. The two tiger barbs were great little fish, bought from Petsmart from the bigger tank. The older of the two (I had him for about eight months or so) was not the normal silvery-gold and black, but rather blackish-gold with black stripes. I have yet to see one like him again. Well, needless to say, the bug man came and sprayed my apartment a few weeks before I moved and I hadn't covered the tiger barbs' tank good enough and they were poisoned. So, I was down to my son's betta and Al the second (a beautiful crowntail betta I had purchased to replace the first Al). I was having trouble with what I later found out were bacterial blooms in my son's betta's bowl and he ended up dying too, leaving just poor Al. He survived the move from Tucson