1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

My 29g planted project

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquariums & Fish Photos' started by Aironia, Apr 23, 2009.

1. Aironia

Aironia Thread Starter New Member

This is my first attempt at a planted tank so any advise will be well taken!
    The tank is a 29g all glass, it has a whisper 30 and a marineland 150 bio filter on it and a typical submersible heater.
    The substrate is this really cool stuff from Aquariumplants.com. Its their own mix and I've seen some pretty amazing tanks with this stuff. So I bought a 3 gallon bucket of this stuff and its at least 3 1/2 inches through-out. The lighting is nothing special and needs an upgrade pronto. Looking at a big-al special for freshwater tanks. Keeping it to low or moderate light plants.
    Ive finally found some Gertrude's Rainbows. Getting a dozen of them on Friday. I'm hoping they find this tank a lovely new home and will bring me many babies!
    Ive cycled the tank for the last month with five zebra danios, which ill probably dump into my main tank, and keep just the rainbows in this one. It does have two half inch Otto cats in it now that will remain. I'm thinking some shrimp for clean up will top it off. (and I'm still hoping for that zebra pleco!)

so this first picture is just after the substrate settled down a bit. Ill make sure to add a picture once it clears up.

third25.JPG second25.JPG first25.JPG

2. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

Re: My planted project

Looking very nice. I've ordered plants through aquariumplants and noticed their substrate also (sounds like Eco-Complete Planted, but you get the residual cloud with it).

Are you doing a background? (ie painted, using plants, tape and secure)?