1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

New 28 gallon nano cube

Discussion in 'Saltwater Fish Forum' started by Icemushi, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Icemushi

Icemushi Thread Starter New Member

Hey guys, I am new to The Exotic Fish, and i cam here to learn and understand more about fish tanks. I am about to start a new 28 gallon nano cube. I am kinda new to this. DOes anyone know what i need. I MEAN EVERYTHING I AM GOING TO NEED...ALso what fish and coral would be suitable. Pics would help me. PLease be specific :D TY

2. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

If you've never had a saltwater tank or experience with one prior I'd suggest doing a freshwater nano cube, reason being is you have a smaller volume of water which leaves basically NO room for error and with saltwater it's more finicky in my honest personal experience.

But as far as what you'll need..it's basically the same as a freshwater setup and depends on how advanced you want to get and what you plan on keeping within it.

*Lighting (depends on what you plan on keeping).
    *Canopy (optional, but definately a plus to keep evaporation at a minimum)
    *Thermometer- to see if your water temperature is fluctuating, if it is...that brings me to the next item
    *Aquarium Heater- Submersibles are easier to hide
    *If your not doing a bare bottom setup then you'll probably want substrate such as aragonite