1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

What's up from the TDOT

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by BROOKS, Feb 16, 2009.

1. BROOKS

BROOKS Thread Starter New Member

Hey wats up my name is Jordan from Toronto but you can call me Jay and im new to the fish game...i just got a hold of my first tank...it's a 38 Gallon and i'm ready to start fish adventure but i dont know where to start.....

2. Anthony

Anthony Active Member

3. LemonDiscus

LemonDiscus Active Member

Welcome!

4. stevenrox

stevenrox New Member

welcome you should cycle the tank and what kind of fishes are you into community or aggresive (not gonna be long till you have tons of tanks with all types)

5. BROOKS

Ive heard about Cycling my tank and ive read about it and the thread and i understand it to a point..i dont understand how you know when the tank is ready and is there a way to put in the fish...or even the best set up do i need a filter?heater?...and yea i like both types of fishes...i want my tank to have both color and emotion..

6. Anthony

Anthony Active Member

You will need a test kit to determine when a tank is cycled and to use on a regular basis to test your water to make sure everything is normal.

Yes, you will need a filter and you'll most likely need a heater.

7. NoctuVide

NoctuVide Member

Welcome to the forum, and I second what stevenrox said. You may only have one now but give it time, you'll end up with with more tanks as you find more fish that you want.

8. BROOKS

okay...are there any specific brands to look for...which are the best for the filter,heater, and test kit? and also...i wwas told theat the heater is for salt water fish only and that they need a big tank and alot of work is this true?

9. Anthony