1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Endler's Endler Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Livebearer Fish' started by Dekz, May 7, 2009.

1. Dekz

Dekz Thread Starter New Member

Well I found myself with an empty 10 gallon so I decided I would give Endler breeding a try. Let me get this out of the way right from the start: It is basically impossible to get Endler females where I live, because the local pet stores can't even tell a male Endler from a Guppy, nevermind the females!

As such, I plan on breeding male Endlers with female Guppies. I know this is frowned upon by some people, but I would never be able to aquire purebreds in the first place, and I of course would never try to pass mine off as such, so I don't see the harm.

I went to the store today and bought 2 males (one of which may already be a hybrid), and 6 female Guppies.

My two main questions are:

#1 Will the hybrid spawn be sterile? I've heard both yes and no so I wanted to make sure.

#2 What factors will affect the male/female ratio of the fry? I would prefer mostly Males, what can I do to encourage this?

2. Anthony

Anthony Active Member

First of all welcome to the forum !

To answer your questions directly.

1: No, the offspring will not be sterile and will breed like normal Guppies and Endler's do.

2: Water temp is the only factor that will affect the male to female ratio. To get more males keep your water temp at about 74.

3. Guidoman888

Guidoman888 New Member

I let anthony help you with endlers as I have no knowledge on htem but i'd like to welcome you to the forum ;)

4. Dekz

Dekz Thread Starter New Member

Thanks for the warm welcome and quick answers.