1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Help please!

Discussion in 'Aquarium Equipment & Decor' started by angelfishmomma, Feb 2, 2011.

1. angelfishmomma

angelfishmomma Thread Starter New Member

Hi all I am fairly new to all of this as far as breeding angels put have kept fish for 12yrs +. I have a problem with my cheap secondary filter in my hatch tank. It is a cheap Top Fin overflow pump. Motor will run, I have de-limed with vinegar, and cleaned all matter from the impeller. I prime the pump and have changed the filter media but yet it will not move the water. I still have filtration of a sponge filter in the hatch tank and the fry are big enough I could potentially put them back in with the mother. ( I had to remove the eggs as the parents were eating them. This was a first time pairing.) But I would like to let them grow a bit more in the 10 gallon tank before moving them. Short of purchasing a new filter, any suggestions to try. I have only had this pump about 6 months when I saw the first batch of angelfish eggs in my 32 hex tank.

Thanks in advance.

2. FishVixen

FishVixen Active Member

have you scrubbed the area where the magnets connect? I have to do that every now and then when the stop running. If you have a air pump Make a DIY corner filter use a wide mouth jar like a mayonnaise jar cut small holes very close to the bottom. I cut out the lid just leaving a rim and place a piece of plastic craft canvas inside the lid. Fill bottom with gravel thread airline through a bottom hole put in plastic scrubbies from the Dollar store and fiberglass floss from walmart to the top, sink it and attach the air pump. Now you have a homemade filter.

3. Anthony

Anthony Active Member