1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

i need advise on lights for 110 gal high planted tank

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plants & Planted Tanks' started by xncman, Oct 25, 2009.

1. xncman

xncman Thread Starter New Member

im new to the aquarist hobby and need lots of help setting up my tank..
    any and all info appreciated..but mostly lkng for advise on the following..
    cable heater...substrate..laterite..gravel..lighting.
    i have purchased a 100w cable heater....is that good/bad???
    what material is best to put on top of it??
    i have some florite..how/what should i mix with it.???
    is laterite important?? ive been told if i use florite its not needed..
    if i use a neutral gravel on top of substrate is that bad..ive been told they are all painted and want absorb nutrients because of the paint..
    and lastly lights...some say 2-3 watts per gal..i have 216w florescent t5.. ..2 24 watt sun wave 12k ho and 2 24watt blue wave..is that good or do i need something better??
    again lots of questions. and any info appreciated..

2. stevenrox

stevenrox New Member

lots of questions but ummm.....seems like your set all i would recommend is a co2 system to prevent all types of algae growth

3. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

Never used cable heaters, from what I've read on them when I was in the market for a heater is that they don't do anything proven to help plants.... but what I can tell you is that Eco-Complete Planted Substrate is awesome for plants and doesn't require cable heating or muck with your waters parameters. It takes about a week for the initial break in period to see beneficial affects and doesn't require any rinsing.

fosters recommends FLORAMAX for cable heated tanks.