1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

My new 29 gallon Reef

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquariums & Fish Photos' started by Lanvin87, May 18, 2010.

1. Lanvin87

Lanvin87 Thread Starter New Member

I just purchased a new 29 gallon tank and starting my first reef tank. All the tips will be appreciated because I am a beginner. Here is the list what I got already:
    29 gallon glass tank.
    Live rock(about 17 lbs only yet),
    20lbs Bio active live aragonite(live sand) and mixed with 10lbs regular sand.
    Aqueon power filter 50 for now to start circulating the water and cycling.
    Also I got heater 150 W and electronic thermometer,
    Hydrometer and an API Saltwater Master Test Kit.
    The bill is huge already. I know I need powerheads and protein skimmer very soon. The water is blurry yet here is the picture.(sorry for bad quality-done with my iphone).
    My salinuty is 1.022(want to make it 1.024, didnt have enough salt, will buy tomorrow).
    Temperature is 77.
    I think this is a good start for cycling?!
    Please let me know If I am good so far or missing something, any suggestions and tips are needed:)

securedownload[1].jpg

2. kbekl

kbekl New Member

hi mate i would look to get a refractomete instead of the hydrometer as these are not very accurate or you could look at a salinity probe

the cloudyness should clear in the tank you also want to look at arround 25-40 times the flows dependant on corals if any that you are wanting

the api test kit is also not the best have a look at salifert when funds allow

but other than that tank is look good and nice to see you on the darkside

3. Lanvin87