1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

need help with water chemisty problems

Discussion in 'Aquarium Equipment & Decor' started by Anonymous, Aug 29, 2008.

1. Anonymous

Anonymous Thread Starter Guest

Top Poster Of Month

water chemistry issues

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to both the site and fishkeeping. I've posted this in the "Introduce Yourself" area too, so forgive the double posting if you've already read it.
    I major league messed up my first tank by overfeeding three weeks ago. I purchased my starter fish (three platies - M Red Wag, F Sunset, and F Mickey Mouse). The Mickey Mouse had babies the very next day! I saved 12 of the babies before they were gobbled up and that's when the overfeeding started. The tank at that point was only about 5 days old.
    Since then I've been through all kinds of hell trying to save the F Sunset (she's doing remarkably well now), but lost the Mickey Mouse. I replaced her with a M Mickey Mouse. I'm still fighting through some higher levels of nitrites but those are coming down and I've started cycling all over again.
    The second tank currently is cycling with Neon Tetras. Yes, I know, they are bad for cycling a new tank. Didn't find it out until it was too late (Petco also didn't let me know even after I told them I was looking at starter fish, I thought all Tetras were fine). I'm down to two and one is looking bad (started showing some signs of Ich this morning).