1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Seachem Flourish Excel

Discussion in 'Product Reviews' started by Anthony, Jun 9, 2008.

1. Anthony

Anthony Thread Starter Active Member

I've been using this product for about 3 months now. I have noticed a growth spurt in the plants since using this product. Before using this I didn't add anything to my water to help with plant growth. I think the key to this product is consistency, you have to remember to add it to the tank every day.
    FlourishExcel_250mL.jpg

2. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

I use it every other day. I've also noticed a definate growth spurt to the plants since using it. (You can actually see the difference in my plants under the photo/video section).

3. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

I must warn though that I've come to find several plants extremely sensitive to it (they'll turn to mush).

The major one I recall is Vals!
    And I've also read Anacharis are also susceptible to this when using this product.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Top Poster Of Month

Right on Dawn. Kills vals deader than a doornail but I've read they do grow back and are then not bothered by the Excel. Shrimp also do not fair well to the overdosing of Excel.

5. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Active Member

I haven't had the issue with the shrimp (cherrys, whiskers), but I couldn't see the vals ever coming back from complete mush?!? Lol!

6. BobV

BobV Member

I agree, Excel kills vals. Other than that , it's great as long as one does not overdose. I once overdosed a tank with yellow labs and cyno afra cobue, and some anubias in it....the next day, it wiped out half my cobue colony. No big deal as I had quite a big colony, but one must be careful with Exce.

7. jmart.cooper