1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Ultraviolet Sterilization Questions

Discussion in 'Aquatic Plants & Planted Tanks' started by MOD_Dawn, Sep 7, 2008.

1. MOD_Dawn

MOD_Dawn Thread Starter Active Member

?? about how to install Current USA Gamma UV Sterilizer
    Okay,
    I'm a complete novice when it comes to UV Sterilizers...but here it goes:
    I ordered a 25 Watt Current USA Gamma UV Sterilizer (model 1402) for my 90 gallon medium planted aquarium...when it arrived the glass quartz sleeve was broken (the company is sending a new one and its due the 9th). :eek: This unit is a beast & I need to know the best way to install it?

For the biological, chemical, and mechanical filtration i'm currently running:
    1 Rena FilStar xP4 External Canister Filter http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2752400
    and
    2 Marineland Emperor 400 Power Filters http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2752378

:cry: Please kind spirited fish people...HELP!
    5442_1.jpg 625b_1.jpg

2. trajik ink

trajik ink New Member

hey, i have mine installed horizontally 5'' above my tank, i have a pic posted of it on a thread call ''what under your hood'' check it out.
    if youwant more info let me know.

3. MOD_Dawn

I checked the post? I must be looking too hard cuz I didn't see this monster that I have sitting next to me on it?
    And definately more info on it is needed for installation!
    Can I install it inline (Rena Filstar xP4)?..I more focused on using it to clear up the green tinged water that worrying about using it to kill bacteria (even though it claims it will do both).