1. Welcome to Aquarium Space! We are a friendly online community for aquarium owners all over the world who love their tanks including their fish, reefs, corals, invertebrates and their aquatic livestock. If you haven't joined yet, we invite you to register and join our community!

Water Changes

Discussion in 'Aquarium Equipment & Decor' started by SikMars, Jul 12, 2009.

1. SikMars

SikMars Thread Starter New Member

50 gallon tank (water change)

50 gallon tank (water change)

Hi all,

I have a 50 gallon fw tank. This is my first tank and I'm new to the hobby. I have just been reading up on line and talking extensively to the people at the pet store and trying to learn.

How often should I change the water and how much water should be replaced. I am told I should replace it once every 2 weeks and take out only 20% of the water. Add the chlorine remover into the new water and than put it in the tank. At the moment I only have a few fish, 1 plant and some props. It would be highly appreciated if I can get some assistance on maintaining my tank, keeping it clean, what to check for to keep it going and keep my fish alive.

2. LemonDiscus

LemonDiscus Active Member

Re: 50 gallon tank (water change)

If you have a real plant in the tank, do not add salt as it will kill plants.

20% water change every 2 weeks is the minimum. 10-15% every week is better.

Otherwise you were given correct advice.

And that clown loach really needs tankmates of other clown loaches... BUT they will outgrow that tank very quickly. That one fish was probably a bad choice.

3. Anthony

Anthony Active Member

You're likely to run into problems housing mollies with those barbs. Mollies are peaceful community fish and the barbs can be aggressive.